5th European Workshop on Epitaxial Graphene and 2D Materials (EWEG2D’21)

May 25 - 29, 2021

St. Moritz, Switzerland

The scope of the 5th edition of the EWEG2D, being held in St. Moritz Switzerland 25 - 29th of May 2021, is the physics and chemistry of 2-dimensional (2D) materials with a focus on mono- or few layer systems grown on well-defined substrates.

The workshop addresses the entire range of 2D materials: ranging from graphene to stanine and from transition metal dichalcogenides to the van der Waals ferromagnets. 2D materials derived nanostructures like graphene nanoribbons, membranes, hybrids with molecules or clusters, and heteroepitaxial systems involving different 2D-layers vertically or laterally stacked and their synthesis by new methods like molecular beam epitaxy or ultralow pressure chemical vapor deposition are key topics of the conference. The workshop includes studies on the interaction of 2D-materials with their environment, for example the adsorption of atoms or molecules, the effect of the substrate, or the interaction with light, electric or magnetic fields. 

EWEG2D’21 is concerned with the experimental determination of structural, electronic, magnetic, optical, and catalytic properties of supported and freestanding 2D-materials, where defects, edges, moirés, and doping of 2D materials are of considerable interest. Additionally, theoretical modelling of properties, new effects, functions, and novel material system constitute an integral part of the workshop program.

Continuing the tradition of the previous editions, EWEG2D’21 is set to give a comprehensive review of the latest developments in the field by a selection of distinguished invited speakers, contributed talks and poster sessions. At the same time the location and schedule should stimulate inspiring scientific exchange and networking between senior and young researchers.

We hope to see you in St. Moritz!


International Scientific Committee:
José Ángel Martín-Gago, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid-CSIC
Yuriy Dedkov, Shanghai University
Silvano Lizzit, Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste
Rosanna Larciprete, Istituto dei Sistemi Complessi
Thomas Greber, Universität Zürich
Johann Coraux,
Institut Néel, CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes
Carsten Busse, Universität Siegen
Liv Hornekær, Aarhus University
Matthias Batzill, University of South Florida
Oliver Gröning, Empa
Thomas Michely, University of Cologne

Local Organising Committee:
Empa, nanotech@surfaces Laboratory, Dübendorf, Switzerland
Oliver Gröning (chairperson)
Christine Tran

Previous Workshops




Invited Speakers (last updated 08.06.2020)

Confirmed Keynote Speakers


Prof. Hong-Jun Gao

Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Science, Beijing (CN)

Deputy Director, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences


Prof. Michael F. Crommie

Department of Physics, University of California Berkeley (USA)

Group Leader


Confirmed Invited Speakers

Dr. Rosanna Larciprete

Istituto dei Sistemi Complessi, Rome (IT)



Prof. Felix Baumberger

ARPES Group, Université de Genève (CH)

Group Leader


Prof. Katharina J. Franke

Freie Universität Berlin, Berlin (DE)

Group Leader


Prof. Mairbek Chshiev

Université Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble (FR)

Head of Theory and Modeling Group


Prof. Nacho Pasqual

nanoGUNE, San Sebastian (ES)

Ikerbasque Research Professor and Group Leader Nanoimaging Group


Prof. Pavel Jelinek

Institute of Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague (CZ)

Group Leader Nanosurf Lab


Prof. Marika Schleberger

Fakultät für Physik, Universität Duisburg Essen (DE)

Group Leader


Prof. Stephan Hofmann

Cambridge Graphene Center, University of Cambridge (UK)

Group Leader


Prof. Willi Auwärter

Technical University of Munich (TUM)

Group Leader

Preliminary Workshop Program

Program draft (Version 1.0)

Thumbnail Uploaded by Christine Tran, 5/19/20 2:44 PM

Version 1.0

Last Updated by Christine Tran
5/19/20 2:44 PM
Status: Approved
Download (205k) Get URL.
Version History
Version Date Size  
1.0 5 Months Ago 205k